PURE Graham Analysis

Based on the scientific evidence, kept in the legendary book „The Intelligent Investor“ by Benjamin Graham, we calculate for you the following key figures. These will be indicated for the first 100 best companies of an analyzed index.

Price-to-book ratio

The price-to-book ratio (P/B ratio) is an asset-related indicator for assessing the stock market valuation of a company. In this case, the price of an individual stock is placed in relative to its proportionate book value.

P/B Ratio

The traditional theory of value investing implies that a stock is even less expensive, the lower the company’s P/B ratio is, and that the company’s fair value is roughly equivalent to its book value.

The book value per share is placed in relative to the stock price. If the P/B ratio quote is below 1, then the stock price is lower than the intrinsic value of the company, while a P/B ratio larger than 1 could indicate an overvaluation.

Therefore the P/B ratio should not quote above 1.5. („The intelligent investor“, Graham, 2011: 371)

Stable dividend yields

The company should have stable dividends paid within the last 10 years.

We display the dividend yields up to 10 years in the past for our customers, if available.

Net Current Asset Value per Share

Another well-known conservative analysis of Graham is the Net-Net rule. (Greenwald et al, 2001: 197) Here, the investor is interested in the Net Current Asset Value of the company (current assets minus liabilities). (Lowe, 1997: 56)

Thus the Net Current Asset Value is a rule of thumb how much a company would be worth it for the shareholders if it would be discontinued and liquidated.

If this value was higher than the stocks’ market price, this caught Graham‘s attention. (Lowe, 1997: 56) However, that is no clear evidence for an undervaluation of a stock.

We point out the NCAVPS by dividing the net asset value by the current shares outstanding.

It now becomes interesting, when the current stock price is quoting below the NCAVPS. According to Graham, investors will benefit greatly if they invest in companies where the stock prices are no more than 67% of their NCAV per share.

A study done by the State University of New York to prove the effectiveness of this strategy showed that from the period of 1970 to 1983 an investor could have earned an average return of 29.4%, by purchasing stocks that fulfilled Graham‘s requirement and holding them for one year.

Companies that show these characteristics are also called Net-Nets.

We show that, on the one hand if the current stock price is below the current NCAVPS, on the other hand, if it quotes below 67% of the NCAVPS.

There are not many stocks trading below its NCAVPS. However, it is worth observing, as an exaggerating stock market may lead to the mentioned condition but also when companies are in crisis, just before a turn-around.

In 1929, after the stock market crash, Graham found many companies of this kind. Nowadays it is much more difficult, however, new situations of this kind arrive all the time. (Otte and Castner, 2011: 145)

Moderate P/E ratio

The P/E ratio should not exceed more than 15 on average for the last three years. („The intelligent investor“, Graham, 2011: 371)

However, if the P/E ratio is below 15, the P/B ratio could be higher. (Otte and Castner, 2011: 118) Finally, the product of P/E ratio and P/B ratio should not exceed 22.5 (the number results from 15 times the company’s profit multiplied by 1.5 times its book value). („The intelligent investor“, Graham, 2011: 371)

These approaches concern mainly the defensive investor. (Otte and Castner, 2011: 118) The criteria can usually be met only by large, powerful companies. („The intelligent investor“, Graham, 2011: 371)

Excerpt from the legend of the market letter:

PURE Graham Analysen

Basierend auf den wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen, festgehalten in dem legendären Buch „The intelligent Investor“ von Benjamin Graham errechnen wir für unsere Abonnenten folgende Kennzahlen. Diese werden für die maximal 100 besten Unternehmen eines Indizes dargestellt.

KBV

Das Kurs-Buchwert-Verhältnis (KBV; engl. P/B ratio) ist eine substanzorientierte Kennzahl zur Beurteilung der Börsenbewertung einer Aktiengesellschaft. Hierbei wird der Kurs einer einzelnen Aktie in Relation zu ihrem anteiligen Buchwert gestellt.

KBV = \frac{\mbox{Kurs einer Aktie}}{\mbox{Buchwert je Aktie}}

Die traditionelle Theorie des Value Investing besagt, dass eine Aktie umso preiswerter ist, je niedriger ihr KBV ist, und dass ihr fairer Wert in etwa dem Buchwert entspricht.

Der Buchwert je Aktie wird ins Verhältnis zum Aktienkurs gesetzt und liegt das KBV unter 1, notiert der Kurs der Aktie niedriger als der Substanzwert des Unternehmens, während bei einem KBV größer 1 eine Überbewertung vorliegen könnte.

Das KBV sollte demnach nicht über 1,5 liegen. („The intelligent Investor“, Graham, 2011: 371.)

Stabile Dividende

Das Unternehmen sollte in den letzten 10 Jahren eine stabile Dividende gezahlt haben. Für unsere Abonnenten geben wir die Dividendrenditen der einzelnen Jahre bis zu 10 Jahre zurück aus, so verfügbar.

Net Current Asset Value per Share

Eine weitere konservative Anwendung ist die von Graham oftmals angewendete Net-Net-Regel. (Greenwald et al., 2001: 197.) Hier interessiert sich der Investor für den Wert des Nettoumlaufvermögens (Umlaufvermögen minus Verbindlichkeiten) , engl.: Net Current Asset Value. (Lowe, 1997: 56.)

Der Net Current Asset Value ist also ein Daumenwert wie viel ein Unternehmen für die Aktionäre wert wäre, wenn es nicht fortgeführt sondern liquidiert werden würde.

Wenn dieser Wert zu Grahams Zeiten höher war, als der Börsenkurs, weckte dies seine Aufmerksamkeit. (Lowe, 1997: 56.) Allerdings Ist das kein zwingender Beweis für die Unterbewertung einer Aktie.

Wir weisen das NCAVPS aus, indem wir das Net Current Asset Value durch die im Umlauf befindlichen Aktien dividieren.

Interessant wird es nun, wenn der aktuelle Aktienpreis unter dem NCAVPS notiert. Nach Graham sollte der aktuelle Aktienpreis sogar unter 67% des NCAVPS notieren.

Eine Studie die an der State University of New York durchgeführt wurde, hat beispielsweise gezeigt, dass man im Zeitraum von 1970 bis 1983 im Schnitt eine Rendite von 29,4% p.a. machen konnte, wenn man Aktien zu 2/3 ihres Net Current Asset Value gekauft hat und diese jeweils 1 Jahr gehalten hat.

Unternehmen, die diese Gegebenheiten aufweisen werden auch Net-Nets genannt.

Wir zeigen Ihnen beides an, zum Einen, wenn der aktuelle Aktienkurs unter dem aktuellsten NCAVPS liegt, zum Anderen, wenn er unterhalb 67% des NCAVPS notiert.

Es gibt nicht viele Aktien die unter Ihrem NCAVPS notieren. Es lohnt sich jedoch die Beobachtung, da zum einen Börsenübertreibungen dazu führen können oder aber auch, wenn Unternehmen in einer Krise stecken, vor Ihrem Turn-Around.

Im Jahr 1929, nach dem Börsencrash, fand Graham viele Unternehmen von dieser Sorte. Heutzutage ist dies viel schwieriger, Jedoch kommen immer wieder solche Situationen vor. (Otte und Castner, 2011: 145.)

Moderates KGV

Das KGV sollte Im Durchschnitt der letzten drei Jahre nicht mehr als 15 betragen. („The intelligent Investor“, Graham, 2011: 371)

Wenn das KGV jedoch unter 15 liegt, könnte das KBV höher sein. (Otte und Castner, 2011: 118.) Letztendlich sollte das Produkt aus KGV und KBV nicht höher sein als 22,5 (die Zahl ergibt sich aus dem 15fachen des Gewinns multipliziert mit dem 1,5 – fachen Buchwert) . („The intelligent Investor“, Graham, 2011: 371.)

Diese Bedingungen betreffen vor allem den defensiven Anleger. (Otte und Castner, 2011: 118.) Die Kriterien werden meist nur von großen und starken Unternehmen erfüllt werden können. („The intelligent Investor“, Graham, 2011: 371)

Auszug aus der Legende des Börsenbriefes: