Discount factor at stock valuation or CAPM

The value of a company can be determined by summation of all future cash flows while discounting at a realistic rate.

When you invest your money in stocks today you have to apply a discount rate as a kind of compensation and safety buffer and this consequently influences the calculation of a company’s value. But what will be a fair interest rate you can call for when purchasing stocks of a company?

There are different possible approaches.

First for example you can use the price-earnings ratio (PER) partially for determining the discount rate by making use of the reciprocal of the price-earnings ratios. The shareholder receives his interest return in form of corporate profits .

For example a PE ratio of 20 corresponds to an interest rate of 1/20 = 5%.

However, the profits of companies are not constant. Counteracting rising or falling profits, you need to adjust the “fair” PER slightly up or down. But ultimately it all comes down to an abbreviated discounted cash flow method.

Determination of CAPM

The modern economics have developed a model to solve this question which is named the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM). The basic idea of the model is the hypothesis that the risk of an investment in equities is represented by the fluctuation of the stock price. To handle a greater risk a higher interest rate must be applied in return.

But this model also contains handicaps inter alia on the assumption that the price fluctuation of a stock is a direct measure of the risk of the investment.
Value investing is more likely based on the assumption that while investing in stocks risks are derived from how the company is managed and from the company’s fundamental health and not purely and solely from fluctuations of the stock price traded at the market.

Relevant literature is concerned with the criticism of the CAPM .

The approach of PURE Rating

[...] To continue reading please register for free. Please use the form on the right side…

Abzinsungsfaktor bei der Aktienbewertung oder CAPM

Der Wert eines Unternehmens kann ermittelt werden, indem alle zukünftigen Zahlungsströme summiert werden und mit einem realistischen Zinssatz abgezinst werden.

Da Sie bei einem Aktienkauf Ihr Geld schon heute investieren muss als eine Art Entschädigung und Sicherheitspuffer ein Abzinsungsfaktor angebracht werden und dieser hat somit in der Berechnung einen gewissen Einfluss auf den Unternehmenswert. Demnach entsteht die Frage nach dem fairen Zinssatz, den Sie beim Kauf einer Aktie eines Unternehmens verlangen dürfen.

Es sind unterschiedliche Ansätze möglich.

Zum einen können Sie z.B. das Kurs-Gewinn-Verhältnisses (KGV) zur teilweisen Bestimmung des Abzinsungsfaktors heranziehen, indem Sie die Reziproke des KGVs bilden. Der Aktionär erhält seine Verzinsung in Form von Unternehmensgewinnen.

Ein KGV von 20 entspricht beispielsweise einer Verzinsung von 1/20 = 5%.

Die Gewinne von Unternehmen sind allerdings nicht konstant. Erwarten Sie steigende oder fallende Gewinne, müssen Sie das „faire“ KGV etwas nach unten oder oben anpassen. Letztendlich läuft aber alles auf eine Abkürzung des Discounted-Cashflow-Verfahrens hinaus.

Bestimmung nach CAPM

Die modernen Wirtschaftswissenschaften haben auf diese Frage hin auch ein Modell entwickelt, das Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM). Die Grundidee des Modells ist die Hypothese, dass das Risiko eines Aktieninvestments die Schwankung des Aktienkurses darstellt. Bei einem größeren Risiko kann somit als Ausgleich ein höherer Zinssatz gefordert werden.

Dieses Modell enthält aber auch Schwächen u.a. in der Annahme, dass die Kursschwankung einer Aktie ein Maß für das Risiko des Investments ist.
Das Value Investing geht eher davon aus, dass das Risiko eines Aktieninvestments auf dem Risiko des Unternehmens hinter der Aktie beruht und nicht rein nur auf den Schwankungen des Preises der Aktie am Markt.

Einschlägige Literatur beschäftigt sich mit der Kritik am CAPM.

Der Ansatz von PURE Rating

[...] Um weiter zu lesen, melden Sie sich bitte gratis bei uns an. Nutzen Sie dafür das Formular rechts…